Home types and construction methods
A-frame cabins in Canada: what you can build without a permit, and kits that ship here
By Jonathan Kennedy, cabin owner and tiny home rental owner · Last reviewed October 28, 2026
An A-frame cabin is a triangular cabin whose steep roof forms its walls. In Canada, most A-frames need a building permit: Ontario exempts only storage sheds of 15 m² or less, many Alberta and BC towns require a permit above 10 m², and Nova Scotia waives the permit (not the Building Code) for accessory buildings up to 20 m². Sleeping in it usually ends any exemption.
You've seen the photos: a steep black roof in the snow, a wall of glass, a loft under the peak. Then you price a kit, and the next question is whether you can just put it up on your land. Usually not without a permit, and the size where that changes depends on your province and town.
Do I need a building permit for an A-frame cabin?
Almost always, yes. The exemptions people quote are for sheds: storage only, no plumbing, no one sleeping in them. Here's what the official sources say.
| Province | Permit-free size | Does sleeping change it? |
|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Any structure over 10 m² (108 sq ft) is a building that needs a permit; sheds of 15 m² or less used only for storage are exempt | Yes: a sleeping cabin isn't storage, so the shed exemption doesn't apply |
| British Columbia | Set by each municipality; Penticton, for example, exempts accessory buildings of 10 m² or less | Yes in Penticton: occupation or habitation needs a permit |
| Alberta | No provincial size exemption; towns such as Medicine Hat and Crowsnest Pass require a permit at 10 m² or more | Not stated in the sources we found |
| Nova Scotia | Accessory buildings up to 20 m² need no permit unless the municipality says otherwise; the Building Code still applies | Not stated in the regulation |
Sources: Building Code Act and Ottawa's accessory structure advisory for Ontario; Penticton bulletin; Medicine Hat and Crowsnest Pass; Nova Scotia Building Code Regulations, s. 9(2).
Our take: if you'll sleep in it, plan for a permit from day one and pick a kit with engineered drawings. The "under 10 square metres, no permit" cabin is a half-measure: it's small enough to be cramped, and the moment you add a bed or a sink you're back to needing one.
How big can an A-frame be without a permit in Ontario?
As a sleeping cabin, there's no permit-free size above 10 m². The 15 m² exemption in the Building Code covers a one-storey shed with no plumbing, used only for storage (Ottawa advisory). Some towns are stricter still: Minden Hills requires a permit for a bunkie of any size, and for turning a shed into one (Minden Hills). Your zoning by-law applies even when the Building Code doesn't, and 178 of the 317 Ontario municipalities we've researched don't allow a detached sleeping cabin at all. Our bunkie rules guide lists the limits town by town.
Can I live in an A-frame year-round?
Yes, if it's built and permitted as a house. A year-round A-frame needs a foundation, insulation, heating, a septic system or sewer connection, and it has to meet your zoning by-law's rules for a dwelling, including any minimum floor area. In 128 of the Ontario municipalities we've researched, a minimum dwelling size or similar rule limits small homes; each town's page quotes the number.
Where can I buy an A-frame cabin kit in Canada?
A few sellers ship A-frame kits here. Sizes and prices are from each seller's own site in October 2026 and change often; check what the kit includes before you compare.
| Seller | What they sell | Ships to Canada? |
|---|---|---|
| Avrame (Estonia) | Pre-cut structural kits from 17.1 m² to 140.9 m²; structure only, no insulation, plumbing or finishes | Yes, from Estonia, shipping extra |
| Backcountry Hut Company (BC origin) | System 00, an A-frame about 10 x 10 ft at ground level, with insulated panels, windows and doors; interior extra | Yes, within Canada and the US |
| DC Structures | Pre-engineered A-frame kits from 495 sq ft | Yes, says it ships across Canada |
| Jamaica Cottage Shop (Vermont) | 12 x 20 ft A-frame as a pre-cut kit or plans | To parts of Canada |
Canadian builders also make A-frames: Froese Cabins in Barrhead, Alberta builds A-frames alongside log and stick-frame cabins. Our cabins and bunkies directory and kits and shells list more.
What does an A-frame kit leave out?
More than most buyers expect. Avrame's kits, for example, cover the structure only: shipping, foundation, insulation, heating, electrical, plumbing, kitchen, bathroom and finishes are extra (Avrame). A bunkie or cabin kit costs $6,295 to $26,495 in Ontario by our 2026 estimate, before the foundation, delivery and assembly, and an A-frame kit for living in costs far more. Price the foundation and the permit drawings at the same time as the kit.
Are A-frames good in snow?
The steep roof sheds snow better than a low-slope roof, which is why the shape is popular in cottage country. But the roof still has to be designed for your area's snow load under the Building Code, so ask the seller for drawings stamped for a Canadian location, not a generic plan. On small permit-exempt buildings, Ottawa reminds owners that they are responsible for clearing snow that could collapse the roof (Ottawa advisory).
Questions people ask
- Can I build an A-frame cabin without a permit in Ontario?
- Only if it's 10 m² or less, has no plumbing and, to use the 15 m² shed exemption, is used only for storage. A cabin you sleep in that's larger than 10 m² needs a building permit, and zoning applies at any size.
- How big can a cabin be without a permit in Nova Scotia?
- Accessory buildings up to 20 m² need no building permit unless your municipality requires one by by-law. The building must still meet the Building Code.
- Do A-frame kits meet the Canadian building code?
- Not automatically. Your building official needs drawings that meet the Building Code for your location, including snow load. Ask the seller for engineered drawings for a Canadian site before you buy.
- How much does an A-frame cabin kit cost?
- Small bunkie and cabin kits cost $6,295 to $26,495 in Ontario by our 2026 estimate. Larger A-frame kits cost much more, and most exclude the foundation, insulation, plumbing and finishes.