Tools & guides
Backyard suite and tiny home cost estimator
A low–high planning range for a small home or backyard suite, built from published cost data. Every number shows its source.
Cost data as of October 2026.
Estimated range
$116,000 to $234,000
Garden / laneway suite, site-built, 400 sq. ft. In CAD. A planning range — not a quote.
No region selected — no regional adjustment applied.
| Item | Range |
|---|---|
| Garden / laneway suite, site-built$291–$583 per sq. ft. × 400 sq. ft. · sources [1] [2] [3] [4] | $116,400 – $233,200 |
| Total (rounded outward to the nearest $1,000) | $116,000 – $234,000 |
Sources for these numbers
- City of Toronto – Garden Suites Zoning By-law Review and Monitoring Report (Gladki Planning, May 2025), s.5.1.1
- Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide – Custom Built Single Family Residential, GTA $520–$1,130/sf
- LifeTimes Canada – Laneway Houses and Garden Suites 2026 (Toronto $350–$500+/sf) (secondary range check)
- RenoQuotes – Garden suite cost 2026 (custom on-site $575–$625/sf) (secondary range check)
How the estimate works
- For homes priced by area, the low and high cost per square foot are multiplied by your size (100–1,200 sq. ft.). Homes priced as a whole unit use their published range as is.
- A regional factor multiplies the construction cost only when the cost figure is national. Figures already specific to a province or city aren't adjusted again. Where we have no defensible factor for a region, we use 1.0 and say so.
- Soft and site costs are added only if you tick them. Some are fixed ranges; others are a percentage of the construction cost.
- Each line rounds outward to the nearest $100 and the total to the nearest $1,000 — the low end down, the high end up. The result is always a range, never a single price.
What's not included
- Buying land or a lot
- Sales taxes (GST/HST/PST), unless a source range says it includes them
- Financing costs, interest and insurance
- Furniture, landscaping, decks and fencing unless a source range says it includes them
- Any optional cost you haven’t ticked
- Price changes since the data was collected
A starting point, not a quote
The cost data
| Build type | Range | Applies to | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Garden / laneway suite, site-builtDerived from Toronto figures ($300–$600 per sq ft; typical totals $180k–$400k), divided by Toronto's regional factor (1.03) so other regions can be adjusted from a common baseline. Low end: Toronto permit data gives an average declared cost of $260k over an average 82 m² (883 sf), about $295/sf. The report warns declared costs may be under-reported to lower fees. Total range: the low end is the permit-data median of $180k; the high end is the industry-expert figure of 'often exceeds $300k–$400k'. High end of $/sf: blogs give $500–$625/sf, and Altus custom single-family in the GTA starts at $520/sf. Altus rates exclude GST/HST, site development and soft costs. Production single-family in the GTA is $200–$275/sf (with unfinished basement), which is a floor rather than an ADU rate. A City of Victoria staff figure reported in the Times Colonist put the average small garden suite at about $180,000 (undated). | $291–$583 / sq. ft. | national | City of Toronto – Garden Suites Zoning By-law Review and Monitoring Report (Gladki Planning, May 2025), s.5.1.1 · Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide – Custom Built Single Family Residential, GTA $520–$1,130/sf · LifeTimes Canada – Laneway Houses and Garden Suites 2026 (Toronto $350–$500+/sf) (secondary) · RenoQuotes – Garden suite cost 2026 (custom on-site $575–$625/sf) (secondary) |
| Prefab / modular garden suiteNo official or cost-consultant source exists. The CBC 2024 data point works out to about $368/sf, but it is unclear whether that price includes installation. I left costPerSqFt null rather than make a range from one data point. | $150,000–$300,000 | ON | RenoQuotes 2026 – prefab ADU base price $150k–$200k excl. transport/crane (secondary) · LifeTimes Canada – Toronto one-storey prefab garden suites start about $300k; modular 'shaves 20–30%' (secondary) · CBC (2024) – 570 sf prefab garden suite at National Home Show about $210,000 |
| Tiny home on wheels (professional build)Secondary sources only. Certification (CSA Z240 RV vs Z240 MH) affects whether year-round living is legal and whether the unit can be financed; sources conflict, so I did not verify it. Excludes land/pad, servicing and permits. | $60,000–$150,000 | national | WealthNorth – Buying a tiny home in Canada (turnkey on trailer $60k–$150k; DIY $30k–$80k) (secondary) · TinyHouseListings – 2020 Rewild Calliope 28 (CSA Z240 RV), Abbotsford BC, $129,995 CAD |
| Cabin / bunkie kit (non-habitable or seasonal)The range is kit price only; the vendor's typical all-in is $12k–$24k. A second version of the Bunkie Life page lists $5,995 as the lowest price. Ontario's 15 m² permit exemption covers storage sheds not used for habitation; several municipalities apply 10 m² for other uses. A sleeping bunkie generally needs a permit above about 10 m². Not a legal dwelling unit. | $6,295–$26,495 | ON | Bunkie Life – How much does a bunkie cost (2026 kit prices $6,295–$26,495; typical all-in about $12k–$24k; kit excludes foundation and delivery) (secondary) · Summerwood – Bala Bunkie 10x10 kit, reg $17,295 / sale $12,106 (secondary) · City of Oshawa shed/garage guide (OBC permit exemption: storage shed ≤15 m², one storey, detached, no plumbing; other uses ≤10 m²) |
| Region | Factor | Basis | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto | 1.03 | Altus 2025 Custom Built SFR midpoint, GTA $825/sf ÷ five-city mean $802.5/sf. Production SFR basis gives 1.06 (GTA $237.5 ÷ $223.5). | Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide |
| Vancouver | 1.09 | Altus 2025 Custom SFR midpoint $872.5/sf ÷ $802.5. Production basis gives 1.16 ($260 ÷ $223.5). | Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide |
| Calgary | 0.98 | Altus 2025 Custom SFR midpoint $782.5 ÷ $802.5. Production basis gives 0.98 ($220 ÷ $223.5). | Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide |
| Edmonton | 0.98 | Altus 2025 Custom SFR midpoint $782.5 ÷ $802.5. Production basis gives 0.97 ($217.5 ÷ $223.5). | Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide |
| Ottawa | 0.93 | Altus 2025 Custom SFR midpoint (Ottawa/Gatineau $500–$1,000) $750 ÷ $802.5. Production basis gives 0.82 ($182.5 ÷ $223.5). | Altus Group 2025 Canadian Cost Guide |
| Victoria | No adjustment data | Altus does not publish Victoria; no official index found. | |
| rest of ON | No adjustment data | No official source. | |
| rest of BC | No adjustment data | No official source. | |
| rest of AB | No adjustment data | No official source. |
Municipal charges, waivers and deferrals
Toronto
DC deferral for laneway/garden suites
Deferred, not exempt. DCs are payable only if a new lot is created (subdivision, condominium or severance) within 20 years of permit, or if the property is transferred without an Assumption Agreement. Repayment is the single-detached rate (By-law 1137-2022) plus indexing. Requires a Section 118 restriction on title. Do not pay DCs first; the City cannot refund them. Review takes about 15–20 business days. Page last modified Aug 14, 2026.
City of Toronto – Laneway & Garden Suite DC Deferral Program
Toronto
DC/parkland exemptions for multiplexes plus a garden/laneway suite
By-law 650-2025: a garden or laneway suite proposed as a 5th unit is excluded from the four-unit DC exemption count if it has a deferral agreement. By-law 845-2025 (Council, July 23–24, 2025) further expanded DC and parkland exemptions; I could not confirm the details. By-law 269-2026 (Mar 26, 2026) rewrote the parkland exemption: up to 6 units, or 7 where one is a garden or laneway suite.
By-law 650-2025 · By-law 269-2026 · City Council background file 2026 (references By-law 845-2025)
Ontario (province-wide)
Statutory DC exemption for additional residential units
The Development Charges Act, 1997 (ss. 3.2–3.3, per search extract) exempts one unit in a building ancillary to a detached, semi or rowhouse, subject to limits on the total units in the house and other ancillary buildings. I did not read the statute text directly. Education DCs and parkland were flagged in the Toronto report as still adding cost.
Ottawa
Coach house DC exemption
Per the City's coach house page (seen in search extract): coach houses have been exempt from DCs since Sept 18, 2020, under provincial legislation. A 2023 Treasurer's report values one 1-bedroom coach house exemption at $9,413. A building permit is always required; site plan control or a minor variance may also apply.
City of Ottawa – Adding a coach house · City of Ottawa Treasurer's report 2023, doc 5
Calgary
Backyard Suite Incentive Program (grant)
Up to $15,000 for construction. Up to 40% of underground infrastructure, max $20,000, when onsite and offsite connections are required. $7,500 for accessible design and $2,500 for no Land Use Bylaw relaxations; heritage properties get matching funds. Only detached backyard suites qualify. No short-term rental licence for 1 year per $10,000 received. Funding is limited and first-come, first-served. News reports say applications opened Mar 2, 2026 with $10M from the Housing Accelerator Fund. The City page does not state whether it is still open.
City of Calgary – Backyard Suite Incentive Program · CTV – Calgary backyard suite incentive
Edmonton
Permit fees / sewer trunk charge
Secondary suite fees for 2026: DP $415; BP $124.80–$2,184 by construction value; plus the sanitary sewer trunk charge. Not confirmed for garden suites; the garden-suite fee schedule I found dates from 2021. No Edmonton garden suite grant found.
City of Edmonton – Secondary suites permit fees · City of Edmonton – 2021 Garden Suite fee schedule
Financing options
Terms as each lender or program publishes them. Check current terms directly, or find financing, insurance and legal help.
CMHC-insured refinance for secondary suites
ActiveRefinance up to 90% of the post-improvement value, which must be under $2M. Max 30-year amortization. Up to 4 units including the existing one. Owner or close relative must occupy one unit. Suite must be self-contained; no short-term rentals. Effective Jan 15, 2025. Laneway homes are named as eligible. Early reporting said major lenders were slow to roll it out.
CMHC refinance factsheet · Finance Canada – Deputy PM remarks, Dec 2024 · Canadian Mortgage Trends – lenders slow to roll out (Jan 2025)
Canada Secondary Suite Loan Program ($80k at 2%, 15 years)
Status unclearAnnounced in Budget 2024; increased to $80k in Dec 2024. Secondary sources say Budget 2025 confirmed it will not be implemented and no applications ever opened. I did not see the Budget 2025 text.
Finance Canada – Dec 2024 remarks (original terms) · nesto – CSSLP cancelled in Budget 2025 (secondary)
CMHC Prefab Plus
ActiveAnnounced May 7, 2026. Insured financing for factory-built homes with a 5% minimum down payment, paid out in up to 4 draws (land and site prep, unit on delivery, then installation and finishing). Lenders typically require CSA A277 or Z240 certification, a permanent foundation and owned land. I could not confirm whether it applies to an ADU on an existing property.
RBC financing for additional residential units
Status unclearConstruction mortgage for laneway homes, garden suites, conversions and factory-built homes on owned land, up to 6 units. Projected market rent can count as supplementary income. LTV and draw terms are not stated. Source article dated Aug 13, 2024.
ATB residential outbuilding mortgage
ActiveCovers garages, in-law suites, carriage houses and garden suites for residential (non-business) use. Must be a permanent, marketable structure verified by appraisal. Insured or conventional for purchases; conventional for refinance. Limits, LTV and amortization are not published.
Vancity laneway house mortgage
Status unclearLaneway Homebuyers' Bundle: $750 toward closing costs and appraisal, a preferred rate, and up to 1% cash back. BC residents only; must pass the federal stress test. Rates not published. From a search extract; a direct fetch returned 429.
First-time home buyers' GST/HST rebate
Active100% GST rebate (or federal part of HST) on new homes up to $1M, reduced up to $1.5M. Owner-built homes can recover up to $50k (per Finance Canada and PwC summaries of Bill C-4). Ontario adds up to $80k of the provincial HST portion. The CRA page (dated 2026-06-16) says applications are open. Unlikely to apply to an ADU built for rental, since the home must be the buyer's primary residence; not confirmed for ADUs.
CRA – FTHB GST/HST rebate · Finance Canada – GST relief for FTHBs (May 2025)
BC Secondary Suite Incentive Program (provincial)
Status unclearStopped accepting applications after Mar 30, 2025.
Notes on the data
All sources
- https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2025/ph/bgrd/backgroundfile-256980.pdf
- https://spearrealty.ca/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/2025-Canadian-Cost-Guide-Altus-Group-1.pdf
- https://lifetimescanada.com/blog/real-estate/laneway-houses-and-garden-suites-in-canada-2026-costs-and-roi — secondary range check
- https://renoquotes.com/en/blog/how-much-does-a-garden-suite-cost-in-canada-in-2026 — secondary range check
- https://www.cbc.ca/lite/story/1.7138448
- https://wealthnorth.ca/mortgages/property-types/buying-a-tiny-home-canada/ — secondary range check
- https://tinyhouselistings.com/listings/2020-rewild-tiny-homes-calliope-28-rvia-csa-z240rv-certified-tiny-home-on-wheels-financing-available-1700w-solar-panels-4000w-inverter-460amp-hr-agm-deep-cycle-batteries-fresh-water-tank-composting-incinerator-toilet-dishwasher-washer-dryer
- https://bunkielife.com/how-much-does-a-bunkie-cost/ — secondary range check
- https://www.summerwood.com/products/cabins/bala-bunkie/180626 — secondary range check
- https://www.oshawa.ca/en/Document-Feeds/Building-Permits/Guide_Shed_and_Garage_Construction.pdf
- https://www.toronto.ca/news/city-of-toronto-taking-steps-to-reduce-design-costs-and-speed-up-building-permit-approvals/
- https://www.toronto.ca/services-payments/building-construction/apply-for-a-building-permit/building-permit-application-guides/renovation-and-new-house-guides/new-garden-suite
- https://bylaws.vancouver.ca/consolidated/13207.pdf
- https://www.edmonton.ca/residential_neighbourhoods/secondary-suites
- https://wealthnorth.ca/mortgages/property-types/laneway-house-canada/ — secondary range check
- https://www.calgary.ca/development/home-building/backyard-suite-incentive-program.html
- https://www.toronto.ca/services-payments/grants-incentives-rebates/laneway-garden-suite-development-charges-deferral-program/
- https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/bylaws/2025/law0650.pdf
- https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/bylaws/2026/law0269.pdf
- https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2026/cc/bgrd/backgroundfile-286830.pdf
- https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/97d27
- https://ottawa.ca/en/planning-development-and-construction/building-and-renovating/do-i-need-building-permit/adding-coach-house-secondary-dwelling-units-accessory-structure
- https://documents.ottawa.ca/sites/default/files/treasurers_report_2023_doc5_en.pdf
- https://guelph.ctvnews.ca/calgary/article/city-of-calgary-announces-initiative-to-provide-financial-support-for-homeowners-to-build-backyard-suites/
- https://www.edmonton.ca/residential_neighbourhoods/documents/2021_GardenSuiteFeeSchedule.pdf
- https://assets.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/sf/project/cmhc/pdfs/factsheets/new/cmhc-refinance.pdf
- https://www.canada.ca/en/department-finance/news/2024/12/remarks-by-the-deputy-prime-minister-on-making-it-easier-for-homeowners-to-build-secondary-suites.html
- https://www.canadianmortgagetrends.com/2025/01/major-lenders-slow-to-roll-out-secondary-suite-refinancing-program-after-launch/
- https://www.nesto.ca/home-buying/canada-secondary-suite-loan-program-csslp/ — secondary range check
- https://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/media-newsroom/news-releases/2026/cmhc-expands-mortgage-insurance-support-prefab-modular-construction
- https://www.canadianmortgagetrends.com/2026/05/cmhc-expands-insurance-to-support-prefab-and-modular-housing/
- https://www.rbcroyalbank.com/en-ca/my-money-matters/goals-aspirations/buying-a-home/home-building-and-renovations/thinking-of-adding-residential-units-to-your-home-6-top-questions-answered/
- https://www.atb.com/personal/mortgages/residential-outbuildings
- https://www.vancity.com/borrow/mortgages/laneway-mortgage
- https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/businesses/topics/gst-hst-businesses/gst-hst-rebates/first-time-home-buyers-gst-hst-rebate
- https://www.canada.ca/en/department-finance/news/2025/05/gst-relief-for-first-time-home-buyers-on-new-homes-valued-up-to-15-million.html
- https://ctvnews.ca/vancouver/article/bc-shuts-door-on-secondary-suite-incentive-program-over-uncertain-financial-times